Girl Power, Part II

Image

After a month long hiatus, I’m back.

I would be lying if I wrote that nothing has changed, because although I didn’t realize it in Ghana– so much had changed, but let’s pick up where we left off: my girls.

Natyna. The girl with the golden-kissed skin, dyed, kempt locks and cherub cheeks– she’s all you could ever ask for. She will tell you, “I smile this way because I know I have messed up teeth so I had to embrace them.” And so she does. Every inch of Natyna exudes confidence–not to be confused with arrogance. She’s humble, and coming from Philadephia, pursuing a double minor at NYU in Africana Studies and dramatic writing– she’s eloquent in her speech, fluid with her vowels and adjectives so that her words caress your ears when she speaks. One thing that she doesn’t do is fall short of things to say, but I always wonder what’s her trick? How does she know exactly when, where and how to soothe your hurt with a rhetoric of solace, wisdom and youthful optimism gelled into one?

Natyna and I

Natyna and I

I don’t think I’ll ever figure it out– how she balances the weight of her family on her back, caring 100% for everyone (and everything!)– again, never falling short of that. She’ll admit, “I worry too much,” not afraid to put her darkest, most horrible flaws out to the world because in the end we’re all human. Being vulnerable doesn’t scare her like it would most and people gravitate towards that– that uncannied realness that you can’t find even if you travelled to the center of the earth. LOYALTY. At heart, she’s a mother– always feeling the need to lick wounds, offering comfort and her nurturing presence. I think she was born to have babies actually! All in all, no one can top this girl. She’s the perfect fruit juice blend of nature, nurture, loyalty, insanity, creativity and direction in one whole person. Natyna Siobhan Osborne.

6 responses »

  1. Anika. You are not simply a breath of fresh air, but you are that sweet exhale a woman takes when she finally sits down after too many hours of work. Or a long day at life. Whichever has proven to be the the most unbearable that day. Whatever. You get what I’m saying. Or I hope you do. I am so GRATEFUL to have encountered your genius, your internalexternalglow of beauty, your budding, yet simultaneously sagacity, your humor, your friendship, you. I feel like I am always confronted with the most honest parts of myself when I speak to you and instead of that being discomforting, it’s the exact opposite for me. You are a safe place. And a sister. And I thank you for this.

What's on your mind...

